apk file size

Hello! I’m just learning to program with Solar2D, and I can’t understand why the apk file (Hello World) from the examples has such a huge size - 11.8MB. Please tell me what tools can be used to reduce its size?

I think that most of that size is engine itself.

Thanks for the answer. To tell the truth, this situation does not please me at all.

when corona sdk was there before solar2d, empty apps used to have an apk size of 6MB or less
as playstores evolve, and SDKs evolve, initial plugins need to exist even if you don’t have any line of code, that’s why it keeps growing

Unity for example exports to a much larger size for empty apk

it’s all about default plugins, and additional plugins in your code

Thanks. I’m wondering if there are any third-party tools to reduce the size of the apk? Or are there no options at all to reduce the size of the empty Solar2D application?

You can reduce the size by a bit over 1MB by removing the standard widget_asset graphics that are added on build. Excluding them should really be a part of the build system by now and I think it can be done with HTML5 builds already. For Android, you’d need to manually take them out and it’s not something I’d recommend doing for how little the gains are.

Is there something that’s worrying you about the APK size @Impad?

Actually, it worries. I have been programming for a long time. And for microcontrollers, and for Windows. And the size of the application always makes sense, sometimes critical. The smaller the app, the better. And bloated monsters, despite the fact that they still do nothing, few people will like. Sorry to be straightforward. I wanted to learn how to program for Android, but apparently I chose the wrong environment.