Business App: Login and Password Encryption Sample

I’m in the process of building a business app, but I’m relatively new to corona, and most of my work before has been done with game apps.

I was hoping someone could help me with account creation (to be stored in a remote database) and then login to show a different scene, I have a good idea of how the logic of it works but I don’t know how to implement any of it with actual code.

Any insight, tips, or code samples would be greatly appreciated!

We recently updated the Business App sample (https://github.com/coronalabs/business-app-sample) to include form entry and reading and writing from a local SQLite database that might get you started, however I specifically did not use login’s as an example because I felt the app was complex enough.

For inputting the user information, you will new native.newTextField(). There is an option .isSecure that turns a field into a password field. This is all documented under those APIs. That’s the easy part.

From there you would use network.request() to make an HTTP request to a server that you have access to. On that server you would likely have a script written in PHP or ASP or some other web scripting language. That script would then take the values, process then and the script would talk to whatever database you’re using (MySQL, etc.), compare the username and password and if they match, return a value to your app that network.request() would present to you in it’s call back listener function. Your app can then react to the results accordingly.

That’s a basic outline of the data flow. Now lets switch up and talk about the password itself.