Comparing Game engines, question about Corona...

I’ve been comparing game development engines and I need advise from you guys.
I went through the getting started guide and love it so far. My concern, is that I don’t want to get to far invested in a game engine and then its not what i wanted.

I’m developing on a Windows PC, but want to make an IOS game.
I’m looking for a game dev engine that I can export to xcode or how ever you do it, then my plan is to take the export and rent a mac online just for publishing it.
Is this possible with Corona? if not is there other game dev engines that will do this?

Also followup question, i saw the last build of Corona was from 2018, and the latest note from the developer, is this project eventually going away? Like i said I dont want to invest my time into something that won’t last. Where maybe Unity would be better.

I’m a web developer, but just jumping into mobile game dev.

Thanks for the help!

J

Corona is being phased out. You are on Solar2D forums after all.

The 2018 build was the “last public build”, but there have been frequent builds constantly since then, they’ve just been listed as “daily builds”. I have no idea as to why the old Corona Labs Inc. team didn’t release new public builds, but that was then.

The future of Solar2D looks bright. The community is much more engaged than before and there are all sorts of interesting things coming up. You should download the latest Solar2D build from https://github.com/coronalabs/corona/releases.

If you are just jumping to game dev, I’d recommend Solar2D over Unity as it is much easier to learn and get stuff done with.

Finally, I know that some have used virtual machines to build for iOS, but I haven’t done that myself.

2 Likes

Jump in. You won’t find a better game engine for 2d development imo. Corona SDK had been rebranded as Solar2D.

https://solar2d.com/ - Check this out -> https://www.solar2dplayground.com/

1 Like