Destructable terrain-Bomb Craters

I am a beginner to Solar2D. I am trying to make a game where you dodge falling bombs, which make craters in the ground. I’m having trouble thinking of a way to to implement the crater formation. Does corona support any type of destructible terrain?

1 Like

Not in the way you’re probably thinking, but … kind of

Note: We talked about this a long time ago on Corona Geek #181:

Here is a link to a zip containing 3 progressively more detailed examples:
http://github.com/roaminggamer/CoronaGeek/raw/master/Hangouts/Tips_and_Tricks/scorchedEarth.zip

1 Like

I once wrote a project where I handled destructible terrain using good old math. I couldn’t seem to find the project folder anywhere, but I’ll take another look later today.

Essentially, I created a table full of Boolean values for the map. I used this data to draw the initial ground by calculating a smoothed shape for one big polygon. I also gave this polygon a repeating texture fill and chain physics body. The core limitation was this approach was that it couldn’t create levels with hollow ground, i.e. each tunnel or hole had to be connected to the surface, there couldn’t be closed holes in the level.

Then, during gameplay, when an explosive collided with the ground, I treated the explosion as a circle (with its size depending on the type of explosive) and then I just calculated the difference between the level and the explosion (see Boolean operations on polygons).

Following the operation, I updated the level’s shape, created a new polygon below the existing one and then removed the previous polygon.

I don’t think it’s the most elegant solution, but if you are familiar with Boolean operations on polygons, it’s not too difficult to implement.

2 Likes

You might consider using chain bodies if you only care about is the surface contact. You can use the same set of vertices to generate the polygon and and the chain body. I’ve had success with this method.