Hello everyone. Could someone please assist me?

Hello!

My name is Richard. I have decades of programming experience, however, I am new to the Corona SDK (and am very amazed and inspired by what I’ve seen so far) and would appreciate some guidance to get my next project off on the right foot so to speak. :slight_smile:

I have worked through the getting started tutorials, creating the balloon tap and star explorer projects using my own assets and deploying to my local mobile devices. I have also read through the guides, and skimmed through the docs on a few of the modules to see how things work.

I will require a UI-heavy scene for my game, and this is where I am not 100% sure of how to approach things.

I have hundreds of items which are categorized in primary categories, and further into sub-categories.

I need to display a paginated “inventory” of all the items for a selected primary and secondary category.

Selecting a primary category, the available sub-categories need to change, and the inventory itself needs to change to reflect the available items.

Selecting a secondary category needs to change the inventory to reflect the available items in that secondary category.

Each item in the inventory display needs to be a toggle button with an image icon on the button, when an item is selected, the corresponding information for that item needs to be displayed in the “detail” display.

I have made the following diagram to help explain visually what I wish to achieve with this platform.

261e19d7f6.png

I am thinking that I will need to create display groups for each of the main components, and the buttons themselves. However, how to best handle all of the changing of the  visuals for everything without probably losing performance in creating/destroying/adding/removing tons of display objects on interactions.