Help with signing for Debug Build

Hello guys, my names are Lionel K and I AM new to solar2d game engine. However, I AM trying to build a sample apk app, but each time I click on build, i get a warning message that says " The password for the alias was not valid, or the java JDK was not found."

I was reading the signing for Debug Build tutorials and it says corona includes a debug.keystore for testing your app on devices. To use it, follow these steps:

1. Select Debug from the keystore menu

Please this is the part that gets me confused, where can i locate the app or file to select Debug from the keystore menu?

Thanks alot in advance.

Welcome Lionel!

After you select Build from File menu and open up Android Build Setup menu, you’ll see Browse button right next to Keystore. After clicking that, you’ll find debug.keystore under Corona Labs/Corona/Resources folder.

1 Like

@bgmadclown, thanks for the quick response, but it still doesn’t explain how to setup the password for the alias androiddebugkey.

Because each time i try to build the android app, i get a message saying “The password for the alias was not valid, or the java JDK was not found.”

My question is how do i password the debug.keystore file or include a password in it?

Thanks alot

The debug.keystore that is associated with Solar2D doesn’t have a password. The keystore is located within Solar2D’s installation folder, inside the Resources folder, like @bgmadclown already mentioned.

@XeduR, yes i know that the debug.keystore file is located inside solar2d installation folder. But each time I click on Build it will request for a password.

Please see the guide below that is causing my confusion, because step one says “select debug from the keystore menu”. So just from where exactly will I select debug before navigating to the keystore file location.

Signing for Debug Build
For debug builds, Corona includes a debug.keystore for testing your app on devices. To use it, follow these steps: