Hoping the best for the Open Source way

I read some time ago some comments that seems to be “killing” the community or taking away hope on the engine’s future, maybe they even don’t realize it. Anyway, I wanted to share my overall thoughts about this engine’s future:

When I started learning to code I was 13. I did go straight to web stuff (HTML 5/CSS and so) it was easier to get a grasp on designing web pages with bare tags.

I literally was learning too many things without actually using it in a project. I was not making real world projects, just “learning” random stuff I’d like. I loved (and still do) making front-end design as the hobbyist I am but I also wanted to make games, that was my real passion. Learned later that web is not (yet) powerful/suitable enough to manage even decent projects.

I remember I did try Game Maker and it was so easy to get started.

You just drag some boxes and write some “code” and you got your platform game in minutes. But I somehow feel like something was missing. I then learned that it has a not-so-good language to work with, though it’s as easy as lua. Then realized that yes, it’s a multi platform one but not free , exporting options cost TOO MUCH! , it´s not Open Source and so. I knew that I needed something let’s say, cheaper. Simpler.

I maybe tried literally every 2D game engine in the internet. Godot, Love2D even BuildBox, you name it. None of those compare to the simplicity that the-god-of-easiness Corona Labs engine had. Please, don’t get me wrong. Godot seems (in his awkward way) simple too, but the team behind this tool re-imagined how indie programmers could save a huge amount of time. There is (almost) not learning curve, this was the thing that made me said in my mind: “Oh man, I’m in!”. I actually learned to write programs with it. I did not used basic programming syntax before. So you get the idea.