Ideas for games sometime come in small packages!

Hello,

I’m new to Corona, and thought I’d tell you my story of how I came up with the idea for a game and got it published on Google Play…

So, I’ve been interested in game development for as long as I can remember, and as a developer (business apps), I could see it as a welcome distraction from the day job.

However, I didn’t have an idea for a game, so never took the plunge and developed one!

Then in the autumn of 2019, I had a brain-wave!

Firstly, you should know I live in the UK, and, as some of you may also know the UK decided to leave the EU in June 2016, and has been having a not-so-internal monologue with itself about that decision ever since.

Up until the UK officially left the EU at the end of January 2020, you could not change TV channel, read a news website or newspaper without the “B” word being shouted back at you.

Indeed, at some points during the Parliamentary debates about the “B” word, the “BBC Parliament” channel was pulling in millions of viewers (TV audience and streaming), more than the UK’s main channels at prime-time. It was crazy as on average, and I’m guessing here, 10 people watched that channel and that head-count probably included any pets that may be in the room at the time.

And who was the Master of Ceremonies for this show? Trying to keep all the members of parliament from self-imploding? Mr. Speaker. John Bercow.

A man who just barely clears 5 feet in height but has a voice that could knock you over at 20 paces!

Ah! I thought. Mr. Speaker, keeping MPs in-line. That could be a game! An idea was born.

Next, what to write it in?

It was a choice between Corona and Unity.

Unity would have taken me an age to learn, and when I saw the “StarExplorer” demo on the Corona web-site, I thought bingo! That’s exactly what I needed.

And so, “BERCOIDS” was born (BTW: it’s still available on Google Play).