Is Solar 2D still Alive ?

I am new to game dev. Chose Lua for base. Researched extensively.

Got to know about Love 2d, Solar 2d and Defold.

Liked Defold and Solar 2d,

Want to try Solar 2d first for a small html project.

My first question is Solar 2d alive ?

Does it now support offline build ? Or I would have to be online in order to export the file ?

Does it support for Poki ? I want to publish my game on POKI-[dot]-COM.

How does Plugin system work ? I mean when i click on any one i just get some code to paste. Does it mean corona simulator has all the plugins installed in it already or plugins are installed on remote server ?

Yes.

If you’re using plugins, then fetching new versions of them would require an online connection. Similarly building for Android uses Gradle, which requires Internet connection. Otherwise the builds are done offline.

As far as I know, Poki runs HTML5 games, so they should work just fine. You need to implement these features though: HTML5 - Poki Developer Guide

The simulator fetches them from GitHub or other sources, depending on the plugin. As it fetches them, it will cache them on your device as well so that it doesn’t constantly fetch them.

1 Like

Yes, but I don’t use the html builds, so I don’t know the current state of them.

Yeah… you may need a connection for the first build to pull in the plugins.

It will download the plugins… note: the some/most of the plugins don’t work in the simulator and will have to be tested on a device.

Yes, of course.

Just join our Discord Community, there are many active developers: Solar2D Developer Network

Try both engines for your first project. Only you can decide which engine to use. If i tell you that i liked Solar2D much better than Defold, you still wouldn’t understand why. That’s why you need to play with it. I’m pretty sure you will like Solar2D. Try to play with these demo projects: Solar2D Documentation — Developer Guides | Getting Started