Issues with Corona Editor

I’m trying to learn how to use the Corona Editor 1.0 debugger but have run into some problems.  Are these bugs or am I not understanding how this is supposed to work?

1.  First, I tried in ST2, and all the debugger menu items are grayed out.  I uninstalled and reinstalled the CE package and the menu items are still grayed out.   I installed ST3(beta) and the CE debugger features are available.  Is CE is supposed to work in ST2 ?

2.  In ST3, If I turn on the debugger, my project runs slooooooowwwwwwwwly and eventually chokes to death.   I don’t set any breakpoints (just run again after it breaks at the first line), I’ll get a few stuttering starts on the first screen, then everything just freezes.  Waiting for a few minutes and it might choke past another few frames and freeze again.  Eventually it’s just dead and I have to force quit the simulator.  It never even completed loading the first scene.  I’ve never used a debugger before, so perhaps I’m missing some basic usage info, but I don’t see how this could be useful if this is expected behavior.  (My project is large so perhaps it is overwhelming the debugger, but in that case what use is it if it can’t be used in a mature project?)