Layout of text and form get messed up when changing orientation

I’m new to Solar2D and have picked up someone else’s work. I have what I thought was a good framework but on my simple scene where the user enters a host to connect to, a username, and a password, the layout gets messed up when I change orientation. When I arrive at the scene in any orientation, it looks good but when I change, it doesn’t.

Has anyone come cross this? Is there sample code to point me to that demonstrates the correct way to lay out my text and form fields?

Are you able to share a few screenshots of how it looks when it’s correct, and how it appears after rotating?
My guess (without having seen your current layout) is that your app draws its UI elements based on the screen dimensions at startup, but that there is currently no listener in place to re-draw everything when the app rotates. So you rotate from portrait to landscape, and the UI layout stays in portrait aspect ratio.

If that’s the case you need to add an “orientation” listener (or better still a “resize” listener to account for devices that have an on-screen native UI bar that causes the screen dimensions to change when the device is rotated), and in that listener you would need to either move your UI elements around or simply destroy the scene and recreate it:

local function onResize( event )
    if system.orientation == "portrait" or system.orientation == "portraitUpsideDown" then
        --redraw your scene in portrait mode
    else
        --redraw your scene in landscape
    end
end

Runtime:addEventListener( "resize", onResize )

Yes, and thank you for your response. I’m a new user here and this site won’t let me place more than one embedded screen capture at a time. I’ll attempt to upload four screen captures one at a time then.

1. Badly-formatted portrait: Home button should be further in the corner and all form elements should be just below “SETTINGS”.
  2. Well-formatted landscape