Load image using basedir option in newImageRect

Im new to solar2d and studying the media api

I tried saving an image using the media.selectPhoto and save it to a file.
media.selectPhoto( { mediaSource=media.PhotoLibrary, listener=onComplete,destination = { baseDir=system.TemporaryDirectory, filename=“image.jpg” } } )

Tried loading it with newImageRect using this syntax
imgMenu = display.newImageRect(“image.jpg”,{baseDir=system.TemporaryDirectory},50,50)

its not loading. Any idea?

Try this,

imgMenu = display.newImageRect( "image.jpg", system.TemporaryDirectory, 50, 50 )

if “system.TemporaryDirectory” is not present, it will assume default of “system.ResourceDirectory”. Please see the doc here for more details.
https://docs.coronalabs.com/api/library/display/newImageRect.html

I tried but the imgMenu is not updating the image it should show. I changed it to default which is ResourceDirectory but still nothing.

Did you follow the example here?
https://docs.coronalabs.com/api/library/media/selectPhoto.html

Follow the example on the doc in terms of event / listener flow, except, you can modify the “onComplete()” function as below,

local function onComplete( event )
    if event.completed then 
        imgMenu = display.newImageRect( "image.jpg", system.TemporaryDirectory, 50, 50 )
    end
end

Yes. I forgot to mention, the imgMenu has an existing image.

Im using the selectPhoto function to select a new photo to display in imgMenu variable.

But i have no luck at the moment.

Perhaps, you could share the relevant pieces of code here, so that the community can help to take a look.

This is a piece of my code:

local function onComplete( event )
local photo = event.target

if photo then
  print("Photo available")
else
  --This is where I will swap the image of the imgMenu variable
  --I tried removing the variable but it returns an "nil value" error
  imgMenu:removeSelf()
  imgMenu = display.newImageRect("image.jpg",system.ResourceDirectory,50,50)