Localization for Android in Corona SDK

Hi there,

This might be a newbie question, but I’m first trying Corona and after some fiddling about, was wondering how localization (i18n) can be achieved for Android builds. I’ve seen some information on localization when building for iOS, but couldn’t find anything regarding Android.

I must admit that even though I have a background in computer programming, I’m new to developing for Android, so maybe this is something that’s handled outside of Corona, but I really don’t know. I’ve searched around the documentation and googled about it for a few days, but couldn’t find anything related to this.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I obviously don’t expect a tutorial on localization, but just a link or two pointing me in the right direction would already be pretty helpful.

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this has been asked before.

If you mean localising your actual app then that is a manual process needing to be done in code.

1 Like

Hi,
I also use a custom method, because for what I know, Solar2D doesn’t support the standard “strings.xml” localization.
I googled just to see if there’s any shared solution and I found something interesting:

1 Like

If you are talking about in-game strings, I use my own solution(here). There are also other alternatives out there that you can probably find on forums or asking people on Discord.

1 Like

@bgmadclown I do a similar thing but combine my languages. I also allow for wild card replacements.

Sample of data store (might help others)

["build <> residential buildings"] = {
	["de"] = "baue <> Wohngebäude",
	["id"] = "bangun <> bangunan hunian",
	["it"] = "costruisci <> edifici residenziali",
	["ja"] = "住居施設を <> 軒建てる",
	["ru"] = "Построить <> жилых зданий",
	["fr"] = "construire <> bâtiments résdentiels",
	["nl"] = "bouw <> woningen",
	["es"] = "Construir <> Edificios residenciales",
	["pt"] = "constrói <> edifícios residenciais",
	["ko"] = "<> 주거용 건물 건축",
},