Modulated Function returning nil value

Hello all.

I have been working on trying to get this to work all day. I want to move a set of global functions to a modular file. My first attempt is to try creating a function to pass a scene name to and have that function change scenes. Is this possible to do? Here is the code I came up with but no matter what I do it just returns a nil value. I am new to Lua. I was reading all the material I could find on modulation and passing to functions. Any help would be appreciated.

Here is a compressed version of all perftinent code in my menu.lua file

local composer = require( "composer" )
local gF = require("globalFunctions")

local scene = composer.newScene()

-- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Code outside of the scene event functions below will only be executed ONCE unless
-- the scene is removed entirely (not recycled) via "composer.removeScene()"
-- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-- Scene event functions

-- create()
function scene:create( event )

--Menu Buttons
    ----Play Button
	local playButton = display.newText( sceneGroup, "PLAY", display.contentCenterX, 240, native.systemFont, 60 )
    playButton:setFillColor( 0.82, 0.86, 1 )
    playButton:addEventListener( "tap", gF.switchScene(game) )

----Credits Button
	local creditsButton = display.newText( sceneGroup, "CREDITS", display.contentCenterX + 165, 270, native.systemFont, 30)
    creditsButton:setFillColor( 0.82, 0.86, 1 )
    creditsButton:addEventListener( "tap", gF.switchScene(credits) )

end

-- show()
     --etc...
-- hide() 
     --etc...
-- destroy()
     --etc...

-- Scene event function listeners
     --etc...

return scene

Here is the globalFunctions.lua file it requires…

------------------------------------------------------
-- Pseudo-global space  ///FUNCTIONS
------------------------------------------------------