Most efficient way to move several objects

Hi! I’m building a game and I need some advice since I’m new to Solar2d. I need to move several circles in a random way inside the edges of the screen. My first question is, should I create a function that creates the circles or is it better if i create every single circle myself? Mind that I only need 10 of them so there is no need of new circles spawning. And to move them I wrote this code to give the the initial “push”.

function moveVirus()
virus:applyLinearImpulse(1,0,virus.x,virus.y)
end
Runtime:addEventListener( “enterFrame”, moveVirus)

Is this a good method?

This really depends on how you plan on moving the objects.

If they are physics objects, then you’d be better off with assigning them a linear velocity. If the objects wouldn’t be affected by gravity and/or damping, then they wouldn’t lose any speed unless they collide with objects. Applying linear impulse leads to unpredictable speeds and doing so within an enterFrame listener will probably result in your objects flying out of the screen pretty quickly.

If you aren’t dealing with physics objects, then the most efficient way is to use the translate method (https://docs.coronalabs.com/api/type/DisplayObject/translate.html).

Further optimisations would really come down to the specifics of how you’ve created the objects and how you are handling them in your game.

1 Like

Yes, they are physics objects. There are two types of these objects (both physics) that i need to move randomly. And I’m going to apply an event listener for when one type of object collide with the other. I tried to set LinearVelocity but it doesn’t move at all within an enterFrame listener. Am i missing something? My code is the same but instead of applyLinearImpulse i put setLinearVelocity.