Nested sprites/images ...

Hi!

I’m sketching out a new mobile app to replace an aging (1990s!) Windows program… I’m new to Solar2d, indeed to any front-end UI - my skills and experience are in back end server code, so any advice would be appreciated. Solar looked easy to use, and I’m working my way through the tutorials, and I think I can do most of what I need to.

However… my issues are to do with the graphics. Each “scene” is made up from between 5 and of individual graphical elements. The old code uses a bespoke image format, which contains multiple frames that might be selected as different orientations, moods, etc., or as components of an animation sequence… or both! I’m familiar with the format, though, so can access what I need from them.

My question, problem maybe, is this - each frame can be made up from multiple individual bitmaps, so, e.g., an avatar might use a bitmap for the torso, two for arms, two for legs, etc, applied in layers. This saves space as each bitmap might be used by multiple frames, only swapping out say legs in different positions for the walking animation. I can flatten these into a PNG, say, if necessary, BUT they also can have anchor points between the bitmaps, so that that avatar might hold an object, and the arm passes in front of the held item, which is in turn in front of the torso… The held object might, in turn, have other objects somewhere in it’s layers, ad-infinitum…