problem testing app in Android using JSON files

Hello. This is my first post and I’m a hobby programmer so aplogies if this is a daft question or I’m not following post protocol. I’m using JSON to load game data, and have set it up using documentation. It works fine on the simulator. Testing on an Android device appears not to have built using the .json files in the sandbox. I’ve read that Android devices has problems seeing system.DocumentsDirectory. However, I’m still stuck on how to resolve it. Small brain. :grinning: Any help would be greatly appreciated

I may be misunderstanding your question, but the .json files in the sandbox won’t be included in the ,apk file of your build. You’ll need to have the app write them to the documents directory as part of a first run sequence.

Thank you for the reply colinmorgan. Sorry. How do I make the app write them to the documents directory as part of a first run sequence? Is this code I need to add to the game just for the test-build, or physically moving .json files from the sandbox into the folder of the game, or something else? Many thanks in advance.

Hello Guy5,

Welcome to the Solar2D community!

There are a number of ways to achieve what you want.

One quick way is to put your “json” file in “system.ResourceDirectory”, in other words, your working source code folder. In your execution of your code, (1) check if the same “json” file exists in “system.DocumentsDirectory”. (2) If yes, okay, good to go. (3) If not, copy “json” file from “ResourceDirectory” to “DocumentsDirectory”.

You can see one example here, https://docs.coronalabs.com/guide/data/readWriteFiles/index.html#copying-files-to-subfolders

I really like Rob Miracle’s loadsave module- it really takes the grunt work out of dealing with .json files.