Proper traveling Positions of Bullet

Hi. I got this code from the documentation, then i tried to make it rectangular.

local physics = require("physics")
		physics.setDrawMode("hybrid")
		physics.start()

local bullet = display.newRect( 0, display.contentCenterY, 100, 20)
		physics.addBody( bullet, "dynamic" )
		bullet.gravityScale = 0

-- Make the object a "bullet" type object
		bullet.isBullet = true

bullet:setLinearVelocity( 800, 0 )

I understand that I may repeatedly produce this through timer.performWithDelay, or “enterframe” listener, or through transition.to instead of Linear Velocity, particle system, ray casting and etc.

As a training and practice for me as a rookie, I will make a shooting object. But I don’t know how to start because of thinking-when the gun aims to shoot vertically, the bullet may travel in horizontal position, and more bad is when the gun randomly shoot slantingly.

How can I make the rectangular objects travels correspondingly to it’s rotation position, or travel accordingly where it’s rotation is pointing?

Please, I really need help from you. And a sample code or project will be indeed an elevation for me, its really a BIG help. thank you so much.

This comes down to trigonometry. You use the sine and cosine functions to get the vertical and horizontal components of the angle. For example, a measurement of one unit at a 30 degree angle corresponds to moving .866 units on the x-axis and .5 units on the y-axis. These are the figures that the cosine and sine functions will give you. If you multiply them by the distance you want to move, it will give you horizontal and vertical distances required to make that move in the given direction. Hope I’m not explaining it too badly. Anyway, maybe these examples will help:

-- with an enterFrame listener
local bullet = display.newRect(display.contentCenterX, display.contentCenterY, 20, 10)
bullet.rotation = math.random(0, 360)
local rotationInRadians = bullet.rotation*math.pi/180