provisioning profile for live build

Hi, I’m new to corona (well, now Solar2D).
I was attracted to Solar2D for many reasons but live build option was one of them so I can actually transfer the demo app/game to my iPhone for testing.

I understand that I have to have an Apple Developer account for the certificate required for provisioning profile in live build setting but I was surprised to find that I have to pay $99 annual fee to Apple to join Apple Developer.

Is this the only way to test the live build? or is there a way to join and get certificate for live build without paying $99 fee? I thought $99 fee was required to publish apps/games to Apple Store. Is that mean you still have to pay $99 a year even if you are not planning to publish it to AppStore?

Thanks in advance.

I’m copying and pasting…

There are three methods to install an app on an iOS device, as outlined below.

You can not test an app built for App Store Distribution on a device. Apps built for distribution are intended for submission to Apple.

Copy to Device

1. Connect your device.
  2. Follow the steps outlined in Build Process above, ensuring that you select Copy to device for the After Build option.

Xcode

1. Connect your device, open Xcode , and then open the Devices window by selecting WindowDevices .
  2. In the left column, select the device.
  3. In the main pane, look for the Installed Apps section which shows the currently installed apps (this list may be empty initially). Below the list, click the [ + ] button and navigate to the location of the .app file which was generated by Corona. Select the file and click Open . Assuming there are no provisioning/certificate errors, the app should install on the device.

iTunes

1. Connect your device and ensure that iTunes is open.
  2. Select FileAdd to Library… (⌘-O) and navigate to the .app file that was generated by Corona. Alternatively, drag the file over the iTunes dock icon and release.