Runtime Error on Android Device

Hi!  I’m fairly new at coding and have been working on a simple ebook style app in the simulator.  All was running well but I wanted the text to scroll so I tried to add a textBox.  In order to see if it worked i had to build for Android and load it onto my phone… except I cant get it to even reach the screen with the textBox I get snagged up on the title page with a runtime error.  error on line 36, it’s an upvalue error on my background (a nil value).  So i checked google changed local to global forward declarations, changed them back checked my file names were correct etc…  Then I just commented out line 36 and the few that followed which were only anchor points to center my image on the screen.  Now I get this error; line 47, table expected.  If this is a function call, you might have used ‘.’ instead of ‘:’  Please help!!

This is the original code which works fine in the simulator:

local composer = require( “composer” )

local scene = composer.newScene()

display.setDefault(“background”, 255,255,255)

– forward declaration

local background;

– Touch listener function for background object

local function onBackgroundTouch( self, event )

if event.phase == “ended” or event.phase == “cancelled” then

– go to page1.lua scene

composer.gotoScene( “tbContents”, “slideLeft”, 800 )

return true – indicates successful touch

end

end

function scene:create( event )

local sceneGroup = self.view

– Called when the scene’s view does not exist.

– 

– INSERT code here to initialize the scene

– e.g. add display objects to ‘sceneGroup’, add touch listeners, etc.

– display a background image

background = display.newImageRect(“Pictures/TiVaLogo.png”, display.contentWidth, display.contentHeight )

background.anchorX = 0

background.anchorY = 0

background.x = 0 

background.y = 0

– Add more text

local pageText = display.newText( “[Touch screen to continue]”, 0, 0, native.systemFont, 18 )

pageText.x = display.contentWidth * 0.5