Solar2D guide e-book (just an idea)

Hello everyone. I’ve been learning some basic lua lessons since 2013 thanks to an scripting system for a game called CS2D. In 2017 I met Corona SDK and i’ve been learning it since then to now intermittently. This year i’ve published my first game based in Corona, and I also have some unpublished games. Also I’ll be coding more games from now on. I’d like to pulish my skills first.

After building more games and project I’ve got schemmed, I’d like to start a project about a Solar2D guide book, or something similar. I think there are big chances that it isn’t possible to carry on, but I’d like to ask first. Would it be possible to write, publish and sell an unoficial e-book about Solar2D?

But, why would someone want to read an e-book about a framework that has its own documentation, someone could ask. Well, there are some good points that support this idea. First, there’s no (or at least i couldn’t find) any documentation in my native language (Spanish). I think it would be very helpful for some readers to have it translated (not by me, of course, I’d work with someone else). On the other hand, i think there’s a lot of people in my area (Argentina) that has good ideas and the will to build teams, but they don’t code and they would like at least know about what a team is doing. So the added value here would be to have the technical parts translated and explained in an specific language (not directly from the documentation or the already existing tutorials, but in an own perspective and structuring), and also cover some (more opinion based) non-technical parts, also helpful. Finally, the e-book would conform some kind of “course”, adding a way of contact to give/correct/help with exercises.

Going right to the answer, would it be legally and ethically possible to go ahead with a project like this?

Thanks for your time.

As someone who has written books about another game engine, I can say, “Yes is is entirely legal.”