Sqlite database reference to text box

Hi,
An app I am designing right now focuses on financial management. As this involves inputting numbers, a database had to be used (in which I chose sqlite). However, I am new to this method of storing information and am struggling with inputting a value into the database. Currently, a text box which numericField is in the ‘income’ scene in which numbers can be typed in. Under this, there is a ‘done’ button. My aim is to get the number written in the text box to get put into the database when the done button is pressed. This is the code for my income scene currently:

local composer = require( "composer" )

local scene = composer.newScene()

-- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
-- Code outside of the scene event functions below will only be executed ONCE unless
-- the scene is removed entirely (not recycled) via "composer.removeScene()"
-- -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

--Set up the SQLite library (the database for storing information)
local sqlite3 = require( "sqlite3" )

--Create a file path for the database file "data.db"
local path = system.pathForFile( "data.db", system.DocumentsDirectory )

--Open the database for access
local db = sqlite3.open( path )

--Creates the table for income, 'income' is the table name, 'IncomeValue' is the column
local incomeTableSetup = [[CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS income ( IncomeValue INTEGER PRIMARY KEY autoincrement );]]
db:exec( incomeTableSetup )

--When the value is written in the text box, then the done button is pressed, this function runs
local function insertIncome()
	local insertQuery = [[INSERT INTO income VALUES ( NULL, "valuefromtextbox");]]
	db:exec( insertQuery )
end

--If the menu button is pressed
local function gotoMenu()
	composer.gotoScene( "menu" )
end

-------------------------
-- Scene event functions

-- create()
function scene:create(event)