Trying to make a timer that repeats. Really really confused and stuck

Okay, for context, I am quite new to both Solar2d/Corona and the Lua programming language, I do have decent experience in C, C++, Java, and Python. I’m currently making an exercise app. As part of that app, I was hoping to have a timer for each exercise. The timer’s time would reset after each exercise is done to go the next one. I have been trying to get this to work for a ridiculously long amount of time. I have tried countless things, and am kind of desperate at this point for help or anything that could help point me in the right direction. Here is the code (excluding parts which aren’t relevant) and an explanation for the code below it:

local composer = require( "composer" )

local scene = composer.newScene()

local background

local function sleep(s)
	local ntime = os.clock() + s/10
	repeat until os.clock() > ntime
end

local function updateTime(secondsLeft, clockText, it)
	while (secondsLeft >= 0) do
		sleep(10)
		secondsLeft = secondsLeft - 1
                clockText.text = secondsLeft
	end
	if (it ~= 0) then
		updateTime(20,clockText,it-1)
	end
end

function scene:create( event )
	local sceneGroup = self.view

local para = event.params.var1
	it = event.params.var2
	local texty = event.params.var3

background = display.newImageRect(sceneGroup,"images/whiteBackground.jpg",768,1500)
	background.x = display.contentCenterX
	background.y = display.contentCenterY

local secondsLeft = 20
	local it = 3

local clockText = display.newText( secondsLeft, display.contentCenterX, 80, native.systemFont, 72 )
	clockText:setFillColor( 0.7, 0.7, 1 )

local nextButton = display.newText(sceneGroup, "Regular", 500, 1300, nativeSystemFont, 60)
	nextButton:setFillColor(0,0,256)
	nextButton:addEventListener("tap", function ()
	updateTime(secondsLeft, clockText, it)
	end)
end

scene:addEventListener("create",scene)

collectgarbage()
return scene