#wave

OK, here goes. I wasn’t going to post here - not one for public vanity really - but I’ve been stumbling around these forums for some time now and it’s probably about time I actually introduced myself!

I’m Ric. I was born in the 80s so grew up during the big gaming boom of the 80s and 90s. While pregnant with me, my mother bought an MSX, a Spectrum, and a Commodore 64 and taught herself to program on them, so I was pretty much born into inevitably following suit really.

By the age of 10 I was more interested in how the games I played were built than in actually playing them, so she taught me to output Hello World in QBasic and that was it - I’d found my purpose.

Over the years I’ve migrated between languages, and today I’m primarily a web developer really. I became lead developer at another agency and learned business from them, then incorporated a web development agency in 2013, QWeb.

In 2017 I found Corona and rediscovered my roots as a game programmer, so earlier this year decided to rebrand the company to be a web and game development agency, and that’s exactly what we’re currently in the process of - rebranding.

I’m very much an ‘old-skool’ developer. Fully fledged engines that do half of the coding for you and let you build with drag-and-drop wizards just don’t cut if for me. I prefer proper old procedural development and Corona gives me this whilst still targeting new devices and advocating mobile-first design - brilliant.

To learn Corona, I built a relatively simple infinite runner game last year called Greedy Monkey. Don’t expect anything amazing, but: https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=uk.co.qweb.Greedy_Monkey

As a company, our first contribution to the gaming market is Qiso, our isometric tile engine. I’ve posted about this plenty already so won’t bore with the detail here. Go look in the marketplace if interested.