Cannot build for Android. Error 256. Gradle issues?

Hi all. I’ve been using Solar2D/Corona for many years and i’m completely stuck. I’m not able to build for Android, even with the debug keystore and using any corona sample projects. (iOS works fine.)

I’ve read every single forum related to Error 256 and nothing is working. I’m on a macbook pro apple m1 chip with MacOS 11.6. Using build 2021.3656 (plus multiple others).

Here’s the console error:

Copyright (C) 2009-2021  C o r o n a   L a b s   I n c .
                	Version: 3.0.0
                	Build: 2021.3656

Sep 23 22:03:45.665 Loading project from: /Applications/Corona-3656/SampleCode/Physics/Bullet
Sep 23 22:03:45.665 Project sandbox folder: ~/Library/Application Support/Corona Simulator/Bullet-80FD10E4D3ACE28011CE1F84649569A7
Sep 23 22:03:45.666 Platform: iPhone / unknown / 11.6.0 / Apple M1 / 2.1 Metal - 71.7.1 / 2021.3656 / en-US | US | en_US | en
Sep 23 22:03:48.778 Using openjdk version “1.8.0_242-release”
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_242-release-1644-b3-6915495)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.242-b3-6915495, mixed mode)
Sep 23 22:03:50.671 Using openjdk version “1.8.0_242-release”
OpenJDK Runtime Environment (build 1.8.0_242-release-1644-b3-6915495)
OpenJDK 64-Bit Server VM (build 25.242-b3-6915495, mixed mode)
Sep 23 22:04:05.558 BUILD SUCCESSFUL
Total time: 13 seconds
Sep 23 22:04:18.806 FAILURE: Build failed with an exception.

* What went wrong:
                Execution failed for task ':App:checkReleaseAarMetadata'.
                > Could not resolve all files for configuration ':App:releaseRuntimeClasspath'.
                   > Could not find :Corona:.
                     Searched in the following locations:
                       - file:/Users/gregoryhargis/Library/Application Support/Corona/Native/Corona/android/lib/gradle/Corona.aar
                       - file:/Users/gregoryhargis/Library/Application Support/Corona/Native/Corona/android/lib/Corona/libs/Corona.aar