One Signal push notifications on ios 14+

I just implemented the basic init call and listener for oneSignal using the Solar2D plugin for ios. No fancy API calls or anything, just simple init and listener given on their website’s documentation.

Now, this worked right away for my old iphone 6 running ios 12 but I simply can’t get my iphone x (ios 14.5) to register on the oneSignal dashboard.

Is this a thing with the new iOS or is something wrong with the plugin? I believe this is the most commonly used solution for push messages on Solar2D so I’m hoping someone can offer some guidance.

Previous we used to use app42 for push but their service seems to be broken now.

Thanks in advance

We are basically in the same boat. I have been using App42 for several years now but IOS push notifications just stopped working (Android works fine). I’ve had a ticket in with their support for almost 2 weeks now. Haven’t heard a word.

So I started looking elsewhere and kicked the tires on OneSignal. While I did get both Android (11) and IOS (14.6) devices to register and I could send tests to both via their dashboard, they did not have a way to associate a player’s user name (unique to my game) with their push token which my app needs. They have a method called setExternalUserId which would be perfect, but it is not available for Solar2D. I hit their support up and verified that was the case.

So I turned my attention to Firebase and that is where I am at the moment. While it is working fine with Android, I am getting an error/crash using the firebase plugin for IOS described here.

Funny thing, I can use www.pushtry.com and both FCM and APNS work great so I know I have my certs, .p12 and provisioning profile are set correctly. I am hoping that if I can get my Firebase/IOS issues figured out, that may have something to do with App42 not working. I will let you now if I make any progress.