Solar2D IDE on iPad

Hey guys, so I’ve been working on an iOS app called “App Maker Professional” for over a year. It’s mainly meant for building native iOS apps on your iPad. But my brothers last night gave me the idea of having it support Solar2D dev vía CoronaCards…and sure enough…it works!

Anybody interested in doing Solar2D dev on their devices?

10 Likes

My old game “dubstep bird” is running perfectly in it!

I just got a new 12.9" M1 iPad Pro, made for this very thing. What do I do to get this on my iPad?

1 Like

You can learn more about the app here http://appmakerios.com. It’s made for doing native iOS development, and the Solar2D support is coming in an update. I’ll update this thread when you can get the Solar2D version :smiley:

I’ve been using this engine since 2014, but never native.

I’ve never seen a worthwhile tutorial on how to transition to native development with it, so is there any chance you can try and support the non-native version?

Yep, non-native development (Solar2D) is coming to App Maker. It will be able to build to HTML5 too (I hope! Working on that this week)

@joecoronasdk great! Please let me know when you have Solar2D IDE working so that I can run it on my new 12.9" iPad Pro with M1. Should be fast!

1 Like

It’s very close, I’ll update this thread once I have it on TestFlight :slight_smile:

1 Like

It’s getting closer!

Only two things left before I’d willing to throw it up on TestFlight

• basic syntax highlighting for Lua
  • some resolution issues in the game previewer

@joecoronasdk, will the plugins come over without modification? Once you have something for me to try on TestFlight, I will try and build my trivia game on it and report any bugs found.

It doesn’t support plugins yet, but I have a Lua hack that allows the app to continue running even if it’s missing a plugin. Basically any require that fails will receive a faked Lua object that prevents crashes.