Text Message Sent Code Detection

Do you know when you use your phone for 2-step verification for websites and apps, that the vendor sends our phones a text message with a code. On iPhone, most websites and apps that do this bring up a small notification window for a few seconds so that we can just click on it and the code received can be entered into the verification field.

Do we have any plugins that can allow us to do this in our apps? If not, who is willing to create it for us and how much will it cost?

Firebase Auth plugin offers phone login, I believe I have textbelt plugin as well

Why do you need this for a game? i.e. what is your use case for 2FA?

@anon63346430, good question. Answer: Due to Google’s spam filters, they often send our game update emails to spam, so we have no way to recontact our customers without interference from Google. I’ve been working with them for 8 months without a solution, so it seems using a phone number to register with us is the only way we can be able to recontact our customers and grow the business. So, it will not be used for 2FA, but instead, as a means to communicate with them in the future. And in exchange, we will give them free gold and lives, just as we do for their email registration.

Asking for phone number access is going to scare most users! You would probably be best just asking them for it (though I very much doubt anyone will).

Have you tried making your emails less spammy, change the formatting (text to html ratio, etc.)?

Have you tried plain text for emails? They are more likely to get through.

@anon63346430, Agreed. Yes, I’m going to give the incentive with a “Maybe Later” button :slight_smile:

Does anyone have any code to implement this?

You might try this
textField:setNativeProperty( “textContentType”, “one-time-code” )

Does this need to be done from Native? I’m using stock Solar2D, not the Native version.

No

1 Like