User-to-User Interaction Using Push Notifications

Hey guys,

I am in the process of developing a utility/business app, and one of the functions of the app is give users the ability for them to interact with each other, more specifically, user sends invitation/request to meet at an X location, and the receiving user is able to accept/decline the request. The problem is, I have never worked with push notifications before, and I have no idea how to code this. I plan on using php and mysql for the push notifications.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Are you going to use Coronium? It has it’s own push system.

Consider the OneSignal plugin. It excels at this.

If you are going to do your own, the tutorial you found will guide you with about as much advice as you’re going to find.

Is there a reason you feel you have to build this from the ground up when there are other tools in place to get you there? Building from the ground up is a great learning exercise, I’ll give it that.

I talked to Chris and from what he told me I figured it would be better to just stick with mysql and php since I already knew how to work with them. Actually I just thought I had to do it by using php since I was no longer using a backend service like coronium anymore, but I’ll take a look at the OneSignal docs, I’ll most likely be using that.

I’ll be posting again after getting myself a little more familiarized with the plugin.

Thanks!

Hey Rob,

I got everything set up with OneSignal but I dont know why I my device wont show up in the registered users in my OneSignal account. Other than the code given in the installation tutoral, is there something else to add to the main.lua file? I went through the docs and couldnt find any specific command that would register the device? There is RegisterForNotifications() which apparently is only used if you initially disabled it, I still tried it though but it didnt work.