Will it be worth the energy and time in this new project?

I don’t want to be pessimistic, but I have a bad feeling. I have always supported Corona and I will if it is worth the time and energy. Like many I had many digital plans in which the app dev and possibly games are the perfect complement to bring them to live. The world is changing and the programming is too. I have seen how the Stack umbrella appeared in appodeal among other things that have nothing to do with Corona, which is now Solar2d. I have not been very aware of all the information. The coronavirus pandemic has affected us all in a physical, monetary and emotional way. As an indie developer I manage everything in my small organization, I am the marketing, graphic designer and programmer, among others. I decided to use “Solar2D” because there is no SDK that allows you to do everything at “speed of light”. My business is starting so I can not donate 100 a month but I can do it annually. I need your opinion to decide how I will continue with my projects.

Recommendation: Should emphasize future SDK updates on apps because studies predict that apps will lead the market for the next decade. The games too but the standard of the games has risen from a category where a 3d vision is much more striking.

Thanks in advance
DoDi

Thanks

The concern is justified. With Rob leaving, many of us will likely be asking ourselves, “Can Vlad alone keep this ship from sinking?”. In the coming days many people might start posts just like yours. If you really think about it, there are only two ways to this:

(1) Abandon ship. If you want absolute certainty and a risk-free business, this is the only option. Move to a platform which has robust funding as well as a comprehensive tool suite for 2D game development (like Unity). The learning curve will be steeper though and more effort will be required for every project you undertake as compared to Solar2D; But once you put in the time to master the platform, you’ll be set.